Duke University Model United Nations (DUMUN) 2012 Recap

by Emily on March 3, 2012

DURHAM, NC – On February 16, 2012, Duke University Model United Nations hosted 25 schools and over 550 high school students in what was considered to be one of the “best run conferences Duke has ever put together”.

After a few brief remarks from the Secretary General, Ankit Jain, the delegates had the opportunity to hear from keynote speaker Professor Scott Silliman, one of the nation’s leading experts on military law and rules of engagement and professor at the Duke School of Law. He challenged the delegates to rethink the abilities of the Security Council and how nations use the differences in written and conventional international law to justify military action.

As opening ceremonies came to a close and first session started, delegates were treated to a variety of different and innovative committees that highlighted DUMUNC’s ability to serve delegates of all levels:

  •  International Atomic Energy Association
  • United Nations Development Programme
  • League of Arab States
  • European Union
  •  Historical North Atlantic Treaty Organization (1999)
  •  Yalta/Potsdam Conferences Simulation
  •  Obama for America 2012 (Simulation of Obama’s Re-election Campaign)
  • Futuristic Security Council (2050)
  • Chinese Politburo
  • Joint Crisis Committees – South African Apartheid

As delegates wrestled with topics from the modern Arab Spring to American politics, they were able to analyze the historical events from the Kosovo mission of NATO to the dueling interests of the Inkatha Freedom Party, National Party, and African National Congress in the famous DUMUNC historical JCC.

This year, Hillsborough High School (New Jersey) took home the Best Delegation Award, with Cerritos High School (California) taking the Outstanding Delegation Award. With excellent showings by the North Carolina School of Science and Math and Buckingham Browne and Nichols, the strong competition made for an excellent weekend of debate and diplomacy throughout all 12 committees.

Comments on this entry are closed.

Previous post:

Next post: