Ivy League Model United Nations Conference (ILMUNC) Awards: Delegates from Over 50 Schools Win Awards; Horace Mann is the Ivy League Champ

by KFC on January 30, 2012

Ivy League champs: Horace Mann School wins the Best Large Delegation award at the 28th Ivy League Model United Nations Conference (ILMUNC)

Best Large Delegation: Horace Mann School
Outstanding Large Delegation: West Windsor-Plainsboro High School South
Best Small Delegation: Colegio Puertorriqueño de Niñas
Outstanding Small Delegation: Moorestown Friends School
Best International Delegation: American School of Brasilia

After four days of rigorous debate and collaboration, over 50 schools saw one of their delegates win some type of individual award during Closing Ceremonies of the 28th Ivy League Model United Nations Conference (ILMUNC) — that’s over half the schools in attendace! That showed that plenty of teams brought their best delegates to this conference and that debate was solid across all countries.

West Windsor-Plainsboro High School South won Outstanding Large Delegation at ILMUNC

Colegio Puertorriqueño de Niñas proudly holds up their Best Small Delegation award at ILMUNC

Here’s the Closing Ceremonies video:

Awards Analysis:

The five schools that got assigned P5 countries ended up as the top five schools with the most weighted awards. Horace Mann (United Kingdom) and West Windsor-Plainsboro High School South (France) were roughly even in terms of the head-to-head matchup on their P5 country, but Horace Mann got stronger performances from its crisis committees and its Turkmenistan delegation to clearly distance themselves as number one. Thomas Jefferson High School of Science & Technology brought perhaps the largest American team and saw its delegates win awards not only for its United States delegation but for all five of its other assigned countries: Bulgaria, Paraguay, Saudi Arabia, Uganda, and Viet Nam. West Windsor-Plainsboro High School North also performed well and especially so in the larger committees as Russian Federation, plus it got some help from its Niue delegation. Langley High School rounded out the P5 leadership as China, although their Kenya delegation did equally well.

Colegio Puertorriqueño de Niñas used their experience from the competitive Puerto Rico circuit to capture the most awards among non-P5 countries as DPR Korea which enabled it to win Best Small Delegation. Moorestown Friends School (Japan) had some strong performances in the smaller committees to win Outstanding Small Delegation, and the American School of Brasilia (Singapore) did well in the traditional UN committees to win Best International Delegation.

New Canaan High School (Cyprus and Niger), Franklin High School (Germany and Liberia), Solon High School (Ghana), and Dana Hall School (South Africa) also had many award winners and stayed in range with the other delegation award winners. Sewanhaka High School (Palestinian Authority), New Hyde Park Memorial High School (Belgium and Oman), Newark Academy (Honduras, Italy, and Laos), and Elmont Memorial High School (Sweden) also performed well at ILMUNC.


Congratulations to all the delegates for a fun and successful weekend! Special thanks to all the fans who approached me during the conference to chat about Best Delegate — we appreciate all of your support!

Thank you to Phill Venice, Jocelyn Perry, Chuck Schmitt, Sam Shelley, Alice Kissilenko, Yadavan Mahendraraj, Stephanie Vabre, Zach Stone, Carey Shuffman, Anant Shukla, Ghandi Bedi, Bianca Faccio, Arka Mallela, Elaine Song, Hirsh Shah, and the entire ILMUNC team for their warm welcome this weekend. Congrats on running a great conference!

Finally, happy 21st birthday to Jocelyn Perry!

Comments on this entry are closed.

Previous post:

Next post: